Arkansas Press Women members closed out 2023 by electing Angelita Faller of Little Rock as their next president. Faller, who serves as news director at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, brings a wealth of experience in journalism, communications, and digital storytelling to the role.

Faller succeeds Kristin Netterstrom Higgins, a program associate at the Public Policy Center at the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture and a new public policy doctoral student at the University of Arkansas. Netterstrom Higgins, a former newspaper reporter, had served as APW president since 2017.

In assuming the role of president, Faller expressed her enthusiasm for the future of Arkansas Press Women, which will celebrate its 75th anniversary in 2024. 

“I am honored to lead this esteemed organization during this important anniversary year I look forward to fostering collaboration, innovation, and the continued growth of our community of talented professional communicators,” Faller said after the meeting Saturday, Dec. 30. “I am especially grateful to our immediate past president, Kristin Netterstrom Higgins, and all her hard work while leading APW for the past six years. Together, we will amplify the impact of Arkansas Press Women and contribute to the vibrant landscape of journalism in our state.”

A native of Newton, Illinois, Faller holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Eastern Illinois University and a master’s degree in digital storytelling from Ball State University. Her extensive background includes work as a newspaper reporter and photographer in Illinois, as well as roles in communications at Ohio University and Grambling State University before she joined UA Little Rock in 2016. Currently serving as the at-large district director and APW’s scholarship chair, Faller is deeply committed to promoting excellence in journalism and communication within the state. 

“Angelita’s passion for the field, coupled with her diverse experiences, makes her an esxcellent choice to guide Arkansas Press Women,” Netterstrom Higgins said. “I am excited to see our organization flourish under her direction, and I extend my full support to Angelita in her new role.”

APW 2024 Board

APW members from across the state met virtualy Dec. 30, 2023 to elect their 2024 board. They chose:

President: Angelita Faller, UA Little Rock

Vice President: Lara Farrar, Arkansas Business

Secretary: Debbie Miller, NorthWest Arkansas Community College

Treasurer: Richard Plotkin, Retired

About Arkanas Press Women

Arkansas Press Women is an association of professional communicators in journalism, public information, business, education and government. Founded in 1949, APW is a state affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women.