Thirteen Arkansas high school students earned national recognition in the National Federation of Press Women’s (NFPW) 2024 High School Communication Contest.

Nearly 2,000 students participated in the contest sponsored by the National Federation of Press Women’s Education Fund. First-place winners from Arkansas Press Women’s high school contest were selected to advance to the national round of competition. The first-place winners in each of the 23 categories in the national contest received a $100 prize. The winners were announced May 9 at a Zoom ceremony.

Bryant High School student Taylor Dischinger received a first-place award for her Video Feature, “Flower Farm as a Second Business.”  In the Yearbook Copywriting category, Caroline Tallmadge of Rogers Heritage High School was honored for her copy in “Under Construction.”

Second-place winners included:

  • Jack Baker, Editorial, Little Rock Central H.S. 
  • Joules Margot, Opinion, Bryant H.S.
  • Nevaeh Suit and Chelsea Jensen, Best Newscast, Bryant H.S.

The four third-place winners are:

  • Jack Baker, Sybil Curran, and Josh McNeil, News Story, Little Rock Central H.S.
  • Amber-Nicole Ledbetter, News/Feature Photo, Rogers Heritage H.S.
  • Amber-Nicole Ledbetter, Single Page Layout, Rogers Heritage  H.S.
  • Isabel Salazar, Yearbook Photo, Rogers Heritage H.S.

Receiving Honorable Mention are:

  • Molly Kitchens, Feature Story, Bryant H.S.
  • Gabi Dawson, Review, Bryant H.S.
  • Chelsea Jensen, Radio/TV Interview, Bryant H.S.
  • Jessie Varnell, Emma Cravey, and Presli Sickels, Rogers Heritage H.S.