Debbie Miller and Tammy Keith tied for second as a sweepstakes winner at the National Federation of Press Women's annual conference in Utah.

Debbie Miller and Tammy Keith tied for second as a sweepstakes winner at the National Federation of Press Women’s annual conference in Utah.

Two Arkansas Press Women members tied for the second place Individual Sweepstakes Award in the 2013 National Federation of Press Women Communications Contest.

Tammy Keith of Conway and Debbie Miller of Bentonville tied for the first runner-up honor, and each was awarded $125. The sweepstakes honors were announced during the contest banquet on Aug. 24 in Salt Lake City.

Karen Stensrud of North Dakota was the individual Sweepstakes Award winner   She received $250 and a beautiful plaque.

The Affiliate Sweepstakes winner was Virginia.  The Virginia affiliate was awarded $100.

A distinguished group of 34 professional journalists, communications specialists and educators from 16 states judged 635 entries in a wide variety of categories. Only first-place winning entries at the state level were eligible to enter the national contest. All entries were published or broadcast between Jan. 1, 2012, and Dec. 31, 2012.

NFPW is a nationwide organization of women and men pursuing careers across the communications spectrum, including print and electronic journalism, freelancing, new media, books, public relations, marketing, graphic design, photography, advertising, radio and television.

Cassi Lapp of The Weekly Vista in Bella Vista attended the conference and accepted her first and second place honors. Lapp received a first place in single photograph — news or feature photo and a second place in specialty articles — social issues.

In addition to the sweepstakes runner-up honors, Keith and Miller also received several other honors.

Keith received first places in specialty articles — food and specialty articles — government. She received seconds in headlines, specialty articles — hobby or craft, and specialty articles — education. She received third in specialty articles — sports.

Miller received a first in media kit and seconds in specialty articles — health, specialty articles — advertorials, multiple releases and marketing program or campaign for an existing service or product. Two of Miller’s colleagues at NorthWest Arkansas Community College, Rob Hanlon and Chris Holtman, were co-entrants on the marketing program entry. She also received thirds in short stories — single story (fiction) and personality profile — 500 words or fewer.

Hanlon, Holtman and Tara Berry also received a first in the category of social media campaign for nonprofit, government or educational institution.

Other Arkansas winners included:

      Christy Attlesey and Sally Carroll, second in magapapers/tabloids for the Bella Vista Property Owners Association’s Village Voice.

      Helen S. Plotkin of Hendrix College, second in magazines for the Hendrix college magazine

      Jenny DeShields of The Weekly Vista, third in single page, section or supplement regularly edited by entrant — newspaper, and honorable mention in editorial/opinion for a print-based newspaper

      Vivian Lawson Hogue of Conway, honorable mention in specialty articles — history.


More information:

National Federation of Press Women

200 Little Falls St. Suite 405

Falls Church, Va. 22046

Press Release  Contacts:

 Gwen Woolf, contest director (; 540-972-1789)

Suzanne Hanney, assistant contest director (; 773-334-6600)

Gloria J. Watkins, NFPW contest manager (; 800-780-2715)