Arkansas Press Women is pleased to announce the winners of its 2020 High School Communications Contest. High schools from across Arkansas have participated in this communications contests for many years. 

Watch our video congratulating winners and find award slides at

Students who won this year’s awards attend Bryant High School, Haas Hall Academy, Lakeside High School, Little Rock Central High School, Southside High School and Wynne High School. 

APW’s Contest Chair Maryanne Meyerriecks typically presents winning students their certificates in person at the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association spring meeting. Like many other associations and conferences, the high school conference was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic and need to socially distance. 

The work of first place winners has been entered into the National Federation of Press Women’s High School Communications Contest. NFPW, an organization of professional communicators established in 1937, will announce winners of its competition this summer. Originally, NFPW was scheduled to hold its 2020 national conference in Arkansas. Instead, Arkansas will host the 2021 NFPW Conference and student winners are invited to attend. 

Arkansas Press Women will recognize its 2020 high school winners online through social media at and on the organization’s website. Certificates will be mailed to school advisers. For more information about this competition, please contact Meyerriecks at

Download the complete list of winners below.